About the S.M.L.A.

Home of the Shuswap Outlaws

Registration Closed for 2016 Field Lacrosse Season

Registration for the 2016 Field Season is now closed.  Unfortunately we were unable to field enough players for U9 to U15 teams.  If you still are interested, please contact the North Okanagan Minor Lacrosse Association, as they still have spaces available.  U18 will still go ahead as planned, for more information, please contact the registrar. 

Box Lacrosse

Box Lacrosse is primarily played in Canada but quickly spreading throughout the United States.  It is played on a standard sized arena floor and features 6 players (goaltender and five runners) on the floor at one time. Standard goal size is 4' by 4'.  The style of the game is quick, accelerated by the close confines of the floor and a shot clock. The shot clock requires the attacking team to take a shot on goal within 30 seconds of gaining possession of the ball. In addition, players must advance the ball from their own defensive end to the offensive side of the floor within 10 seconds. Box lacrosse is also a much more physical game then field lacrosse. Since cross checking is legal in box lacrosse, players wear rib pads in addition to the shoulder and elbow pads that field lacrosse players wear. Box lacrosse players wear a different type of helmet as well, a hockey helmet with a box lacrosse cage.

Practices and games are held in Enderby and Salmon Arm. The season runs from March to June and begins in Enderby and once the ice has been removed from Shaw Centre, in Salmon Arm, we move to this location.

Field Lacrosse

Field Lacrosse is typically played on a field 100 m long and 55 m wide.  There are ten players in each team: three attackers, three midfielders, three defenders, and one goalie.  Defensive and Offensive players may not pass the center line, however Midfielders or "Middies" are allowed anywhere on the field and may play offense and defense.  The goals are 6 feet by 6 feet and sit inside a circular "crease", measuring 18 feet in diameter. A maximum of four players on the field per team may carry a "long crosse" (sometimes called "long pole", "long stick" or "d-pole") which is 52 inches to 72 inches long; typically used by defenders or midfielders.

The Shuswap Minor Lacrosse Association will be starting Field Lacrosse divisions this summer in Salmon Arm.  The season runs from August to November and games are played on Sundays at various locations throughout the Interior.  More information regarding dates and signup to come. 

Learn More About Us


2016 Annual General Meeting

The Shuswap Minor Lacrosse Association AGM will be held on October 18 at 6:30pm in the Askews Community Room. The membership will be reviewing changes to the Bylaws and electing new members. The following positions are up for renewal for a two year term:

Fundraising Coordinator
Website Administrator
Manager Coordinator
Head Coach

7th Annual Lawrence Halvorson Memorial Tournament

Congratulations to everyone that participated and helped to make the 7th Annual Lawrence Halvorson Midget tournament May 20 – 22 and the PeeWee/Novice tournament May 27 – 29 a great success. It takes a tremendous amount of work and dedication by a group of leaders to put on a successful event and I would like to send a sincere thanks to all of you that volunteered. Special thanks to Karen and Jeff Peters as tournament coordinators. I am proud to be a part of a great team of players, volunteers, referees, parents and supporters who showed great skill, tact, and sportsmanship over the last few weekends. Thanks to all of the teams that traveled to the events and to our many sponsors and supporters.

Darcy Mooney
President, SMLA

What's New

Lacrosse is Canada’s national summer sport and is considered the fastest game on two feet.  The Thompson Okanagan Region has a long standing reputation in the game of Lacrosse and the Shuswap Minor Lacrosse Association is proud to offer the youth of the Shuswap a positive and safe recreational choice.  This Fall, we are excited to announce the formation of our own Field Lacrosse Divisions.  Registration is now available from the Registration page.

Next Board Meeting - Sept 27th @ 6:30pm

The next SMLA Board Meeting will be held at Askews Community Room on Tuesday, Sept 27th at 6:30pm.  Please refer to the SMLA - Documents Page for Agenda and Past Meeting Minutes. 


Thank you to our Sponsors

Logo - Hub International Logo - Dairy Queen Logo - SASCU Logo - Twin Anchors
Logo - British Columia Lacrosse Association Logo - Canadian Lacrosse Association